Press Release
October 26, 2015
for immediate distribution

September, 2015 Robin LeoGrande accepts the Texas Department of Aging and Disability Services Vision award in the category of Choices from John J. Cueller (Left) Chairman, Texas Aging and Disability Services Council, and Jon Weizenbaum Commissioner, Texas Department of Aging and Disability Services (DADS)

Austin, TX - On September 17, 2015 Robin LeoGrande, President of Community for Permanent Supported Housing (CPSH) accepted the Texas Department of Aging and Disability Services (DADS) Vision Award. The award was given to Mrs. LeoGrande for the accomplishments she and CPSH have achieved in creating innovative housing options for adults living with intellectual/developmental disabilities in North Texas.

The Vision Award provides state-level recognition for exemplary service in three areas that support the agency's vision: wellness, dignity and choice. These awards pay tribute to individuals and groups who freely give time and service to improve the quality of life for older adults and people with disabilities.

There are about 97,000 adults in North Texas living with disabilities such autism, Down syndrome, Fragile X syndrome, Prader-Willi syndrome and traumatic brain injury. These adults will need safe, affordable, supported living as their parents reach ages where they are no longer able to care for these adults.

Upon accepting the award, Mrs. LeoGrande said "We face a daunting challenge, but I remain absolutely convinced that with the actions of volunteers, we will continue to find ways to help these underserved citizens live in the safe, affordable, supported housing of their choice in Texas."

About Community for Permanent Supported Housing: The mission of CPSH is to create collaborations among businesses, social organizations and all levels of government to establish safe, clean, enriched, affordable housing options for adults with intellectual and developmental disabilities, regardless of IQ in Collin, Dallas, Denton, Ellis, Kaufman, Rockwall, and Tarrant Counties.